Posted by: Scott | November 9, 2011

My Scariest Day at Work. EVER.

Hello,  it’s Danica again!

So….I had such a traumatic day at work yesterday that I think it deserves a blog entry! Warning… medical talk about messy birthing story to follow…. read at your own risk…

The delivery suite. Where three women can push out a baby at the same time.

The day starts off in the delivery suite were I planned to observe the nurses catching babies. I notice one lady whom they seem puzzled about. They are animatedly talking about her, and I notice the midwife student, midwife teacher, nursing student AND head nurse all take turns checking her cervix (poor lady).

They then ask me to check her. She is fully dilated with a big bulging bag of waters… and no baby’s head to be felt. In Canada, I would have popped an ultrasound on there to see if the baby was head up or down, but, alas, no ultrasound here. I tell the nurses (in my limited French) that I think the baby  in the transverse (sideways) position and that she needs a c-section. They get her ready and tell me I am doing the c-section. OK.

A rather lacking medical supply cabinet.

So they bring her to the OR and the nurse there checks her cervix. He tells me the baby’s head is in fact down. I am feeling stupid for calling a c-section when it wasn’t necessary– but I carefully check her again and I still think the baby is not head down. He checks again, and in the process breaks her water. A flood of amniotic fluid pours across the room, and with it, the umbilical cord prolapses out. All you medical people out there know that this is NOT GOOD! The cord is hanging out, and as the baby gets pushed out of the birth canal, it pinches the cord, cutting off the baby’s oxygen supply, often resulting in death.

Well,  the only way to prevent the baby from dying is to stick your hand up the mom and push that baby back up so that it doesn’t pinch off the cord. So I fire my hand up there and push the baby up (which was indeed in the transverse position, and NOT head down). I am standing there, with my hand in a poor woman’s nether regions, trying to tell everybody in my broken French — “C’est tres importante pour cesarean MAINTENANT! VITE, VITE!” Everybody is moving around in slow mo, and nobody seems to get how urgent this is. I am trying to explain, and get them to call for more help, but I don’t know if anybody understands me. It was such a desperate feeling.

The neonatal "resuscitation" area.

There is an intern there who has done a total of five c-sections in his lifetime, and a completely green medical student. They are slooooowly getting ready to do the surgery. The woman is put under GA by a nurse anaesthetist and finally the surgery begins. I am giving the intern a few pointers on how to do the surgery as I am peering out from under the sterile sheets with my hand still in place! I am praying to God that the baby will make it.

The intern pulls out a floppy, blue looking baby and hands her over to me. I bring her to the “resuscitation table” where I find they only have a towel. No bag and mask, no intubation equipment, no stethoscope. And the suction is broken. I rub the little 4.5 pounder down and pray. And pray. And she lets out a pathetic little cry. She is alive! The nurse takes over and I glance over at the OR table to see how the intern is managing. He is struggling. ALOT. And as I walk over there I notice he is pulling out ANOTHER baby! TWINS that nobody knew about. He hands me another floppy, tiny baby, this time a boy, and I bring him over to his sister. Same routine as his sis, he finally lets out a little sound after giving him a good rub down. Now I run to go scrub in to help the poor intern and student with the surgery. When I walk back in to the room, the nurse is doing mouth-to-mouth resuscitation with a piece of gauze over the little boy’s face. He isn’t breathing on his own. I am torn between helping the mom and helping the baby. I check and see that he still has a decent heart rate, and with some more vigorous stimulation, he cries again. The nurse ensures me that anaesthesia is coming to help with the babies, so once again I go to scrub in.

The ward where moms and babies go to recovery after surgery.

When I get to the table, I am soaked in sweat, partially from fear, but also from wearing scrubs, a thick plastic apron, a gown, two pairs of gloves, rubber boots, a mask, and a hat– all in the humid Burundian climate. The intern is also sweating bullets. It is dripping off his forehead. He unfortunately has misidentified the lower segment of the uterus, and has instead stitched the bladder flap to the upper uterine segment. The poor woman is also bleeding like crazy, and it is hard to see anything. Now try to imagine the panic I feel as I start to come to the conclusion that this lady might die right in front of us. I can see what the intern has done is wrong, but to try to explain to him without speaking his language was truly frightening and so difficult. We managed to get the bleeding under control and I insisted that somebody call another surgeon to come and help. The head of obstetrics finally came and redid the section the intern had stitched the wrong way. She carefully taught him the correct way to do it, and I was very envious of her ability to communicate.

At the end of the day, the mom and her babies survived. And I truly believe God saved them.

What a day! The differences between health care in Burundi and Canada are startling. As the drama of the events unfolded it was impossible for me not to compare how we would have done it in Canada. And to be truthful, I miss the order and cleanliness and systems that I am familiar with. I miss being able to communicate and bond with patients and my coworkers through such a simple thing as language. I do feel, however, that God has me here.

And I am trying to do my best.

Family members waiting for good news outside the delivery suite.


Responses

  1. Oh Danica well done. It must be so hard but God is holding you all in his hands. Allie xxx

  2. Dani, you are truly a remarkable young woman! God has blessed you and I’m so so proud of you. I cried reading your story this morning thinking of your panic and will pray for you and Scott and continue to follow your ‘triumphs’ on your blog. Love Auntie Jill

  3. Wow Danica, that is so crazy! Love reading about your experiences in the hospital there. You are doing an amazing job and are such a fantastic doctor. Did you get a picture of the babies? You guys are in our thoughts and prayers! Much love, Tara and Josh

  4. Hi Danica,
    I cried as well reading your blog. Thank you for taking the time to make us see and feel what you are experiencing – it truly makes us feel part of what you are doing. And it gives us great motivation to pray. I will pray for wisdom for you and that God will give you a special gift of being able to learn the language at warp speed! We miss you. Love, Fran

  5. Wow Danica you truly are blessed with talent and being able to deal with stressful situations in every aspect of the word. I don’t think people here know how good we have it. You were certainly in that delivery suite to save those twins and momma. Looking forward to seeing you all soon 🙂

  6. Oh Danica! I can hardly imagine the fear…. I am impressed and encouraged by your faith, compassion, and skills. You are a fantastic physician and one day I’d love to chat with you about this experience and how you prepared for it! We are praying!

  7. And to think that only a few weeks ago you didn’t know where or how you were going to practise. Dani, you are gifted and courageous ( I know, I know…but you are) and you are exactly where you should be!! Praise God that prayer doesn’t have to be in French!! Miss you!

  8. I will lift you up in prayer – specifically for you to quickly gain fluency in french. Love, Auntie Joyce

  9. What an amazing story, Danica! I can’t imagine the constant stress you must be under – handcuffed by the insufficient supplies and language barrier. You just saved 3 peoples lives!!! I’m going to be praying God gives you and Scott the ability to pick up the language quickly. We miss you and are so very proud of the work you are doing. Shawna

  10. I wonder how many souls will tell you in heaven that they made it specifically because of what you did for them?

    Thanks for taking the time to write and be real Dani – so encouraging.

  11. Wow – moving! Thanks for sharing.

  12. So proud of you, Dani! You are definitely in the right place at the right time. God is good. Praying for you and yours.

  13. Oh man Danica. My heart is racing just thinking about you in that situation. Thank GOD that we have a GOD that hears our prayers. I am so glad that the mom and babies made it. Now, I hope you are doing okay because that is a very scary situation. Its amazing that you have the skills to be in that situation, and are gaining more and more skills at a rapid pace!! I have flashbacks of a certain hospital in Nepal. We are praying for you guys!

  14. Wow Danica, what an incredible story! We will be praying for you and Scott (and the boys!) and are so impressed with your willingness to follow God down these interesting paths!! I know God is so proud of you!! Keep it up! Love Stef and Murray Westerberg

  15. Wow! We need to pray that you learn French quickly. We will also pray for God to continue to do miracles.

  16. Wow Danica – God has entrusted you with some incredible responsibility. You are a gift to that community…don’t lost sight of that. Praying for you.

  17. Amazing Dani, I can see this being SO frightening. Really enjoy hearing about your time there though! Miss you all!

  18. That must have been so scary! What a faithful God we have! Bless you guys for being faithful!

  19. Oh my! That is one of the most incredible stories I have ever heard. Right when I thought the turn of events couldn’t get much worse–twins! Dani, you are very truly amazing. In the midst of a situation where most people would have completely lost it you were able to think clearly and use your knowledge to save both the Mom and TWO babies (despite the lack of equipment and pretty much without communication!!). I don’t want to think about what would’ve happened if you had not been there. I think you are right that you are where God wants you. I’m so proud of you!!!

    Love, Melissa

  20. Lovely Danica. It is absolutely incredible to hear of all that the Lord is doing in and through you in your new home place. I miss you here, but He has you there, saving mamas and babies, even two at a time! amazing! God is so good! thank you Lord for saving that family, and for giving Dani the strength, in YOU, to do anything. You give us the strength! Always! Love you friend. So much.

  21. Amazing story of God’s faithfulness and your perseverance. Way to go!

  22. Oh Danica – what a day indeed! Such a difference from how things are done at ARH. You did so well and God was definitely present! I will keep you in our prayers. Way to go for keeping calm and getting through the day!

  23. wow.. an amazing yet fearful day Danica… praise God for His faithfulness and answers to those earnest and desperate prayers of yours! You are definitely launched into the difficult system of third world health care. Blessings to you as you continue to pursue your calling in Burundi. Even with a language barrier… i am certain your patients see how much you care with your gentle touch!

    Angela

  24. Very touching and moving experience Danica. Thank you for sharing and great job! Makes us all feel blessed we have the health care system we do over in Canada.

    All the best.

  25. Oh wow Danica! Way to go, and yep I agree it must’ve been by God’s grace those twins & their mum survived! All I thought while I was reading that was I wish I was there to help! Haha… I’ve always wanted to go to somewhere like that & help but have no idea when or how I will ever do it. Keep up the good work & treasure these bizarre experiences because they’ll teach you more than working here in the orderly & organized hospital settings we work in. 🙂 Bless you!


Leave a comment

Categories