Posted by: Scott | May 14, 2012

Perhaps the cheapest, most sustainable development program idea in Africa

It all started when I read the book When Helping Hurts by Steve Corbett & Brian Fikkert and came across a part where they talk about starting savings groups in churches.  This idea was quite new to me and I wanted to learn more.  I had heard about micro-finance and how lending agencies give small loans to promote business in developing countries.  I heard they were very successful and that the pay-back rate was very high…especially among women.   However, this book did not recommend micro-finance (MFI), but savings groups instead.

I began to talk to some people about savings groups, and it turns out that they are one of the best bang-for-your-buck development programs in Africa right now.  They have a very high degree of success rate (>90%), they do not require any outside funding, they reach the poorest of poor, and they are 100% sustainable…meaning that when the person/NGO that formed the group leaves, the savings group continues for years afterwards.

These people have assembled to participate in a weekly savings group meeting

There is one particular model called VSLA (Village Savings and Loans Association) which I was attracted to the most.  In this model, groups of between 10-25 people meet weekly to purchase shares by depositing money into a metal lock-box.  The price of a share varies for each group, depending on the economic situation, but each member is obliged to purchase between 1-5 shares each week.  Over a short period of time the money in the lock-box begins to grow and (only) the members of the group are allowed to take loans from the box…up to 3 times the amount of shares that they have purchased at a pre-determined interest rate.

There was one weakness with the VSLA model in my opinion.  It did not teach people why they are saving…and why would it?  It is a secular model.  This is why I introduced 8 additional teachings on topics like conflict management, prayer, God’s word, and other Biblical worldview topics to lend purpose and direction to the group members.  The goal is to grow up into all that God has for us, not to simply have more money.

So last January I began the formation of savings groups with FH Burundi.  I traveled to Kenya to take a one week course on the different kinds of savings groups taught by Laura Hunter from FH Washington DC.  It was a great course and very eye-opening.  She had started a bunch of savings groups in Mozambique a few years back and it was great to see her pictures.  I came home from the training with big plans to start 100 groups in 2012.  Perhaps a bit ambitious.

Even the goat is getting in on the action. He probably won’t like the teaching on Matthew 25 though…

It took me about 2 months to finish a 90 page manual on how to form and manage savings groups in Burundi, and the final copy is still not finished.  We have to get the whole thing translated into Kirundi so that the field agents can use it easily.  I also had to travel up to the various FH regional offices in different provinces and do full day trainings on the mechanics of savings groups so that the local staff would have a good idea of how to implement this program.  The ideas were very new to many people but they were all excited to try it out.

There was one problem that I could not get over that kept staring me in the face.  It was simply the fact that I have received trainings on savings groups, read countless pages on their formation, written a 90 page manual, and yet have never started one myself.  I haven’t even seen one in action!  Strangely, this did not bother me at all.  I think I have always been the type of person to throw myself in over my head…after all, it’s the best way to learn how to swim.

It turns out that God provided a flotation device for me.  While I was visiting other NGO’s in Bujumbura to research their involvement in savings groups, there was one particular NGO called CARE International that had just ran out of funding in their savings groups budget.  They had already formed over 7000 savings groups in the country and had incredible amounts of experience with them but unfortunately this was coming to an end.  They told me that they had to lay off 10 field agents who are super-qualified and that I could hire them if I wanted.  Like a child in a candy shop I began to salivate and vibrate slightly.  They gave me all the résumés of the potential candidates and I selected two of them who have been forming groups for minimum 4 years each.  One named Jocelyn who has managed over 2000 savings groups, and the other Patrick who also has extensive experience.  I took a bit of time to show them the difference between the CARE savings groups model and FH Burundi savings groups and they picked up on the differences very quickly.  Now I have two ‘experts’ on savings groups who can teach not only FH staff members, but me as well.  Godsends

As of now, we have 37 groups in the process of being formed.  I could never have imagined that things would be so successful.  There are around 1000 people who are involved in the savings group program with more being added shortly.

She said that savings groups are a great thing for the local population because there is so much poverty on their hill. Nobody there has the opportunity to save or borrow money, so there is a lot of wasted money. She also says to buy clothes for her family she sells things that do not belong to her, but now they will have a ‘social fund’ which will make this practice unnecessary. She is confident that members of this group will gradually improve their living conditions over the next year.

Now that things are underway with the savings groups, I will be turning towards Sunday School curriculum.  There are hundreds of kids (maybe even over a thousand) who gather every week for Sunday School but the teachers have no curriculum so they end up simply memorizing scripture.  So before I return to Canada for the baby, I want to train Sunday School teachers on effective teaching and hand over a usable Kirundi curriculum that will sustain them until I return.

Prayer requests:  Danica has started teaching in the university again, even though she is not feeling 100% yet.  Pray that she would be able to prepare well and teach well so that the students will really benefit from her teaching.


Responses

  1. Love it. do you have the 8 lessons available in English? French? We are doing small scale Micro enterprise in a gospel target community. We’ve seen God do some pretty neat things in lives and in the community! We want to keep it small and so we have about 15 groups still on our waiting list. This could be a way to help them without overextending ourselves. How long does it take participants to function independently?

    • That’s great! I have a good English manual and a sorta-comprehensible French one (good enough). I can send them to you if you would like if you give me your email address. As far as time-lines, it takes one year before they are totally independant, but after 3 months they are semi-independant and are being visited only once a month (1/4 meetings). Le me know if you want the manual.

      • Yes, could you send me both the English and the French. Our American team mate has started one Village Bank. Our email address is philjudybowler@gmail.com . Thanks, so much, Scott.
        Love to Danica!

      • I got the manuals. Thanks! Are your groups made up primarily with believers? Do you work with lots of Muslims at all?

      • I don’t know yet…but in the areas where these programs are being implemented the groups are 99% Christian. I know that in FH Kenya they do these groups and include Muslims.

  2. Hi Scott am excited to here your well and great progress on the savings groups. am in Isiolo training TOT’s on savings groups and marketing for the groups already formed as IGA’s.
    May God bless you and all the best.

    • Thanks Claire! Yeah, I saw on your fb status that you were in Isiolo again and I was wondering about that 🙂

  3. I’m thinking your days in Burundi must have more than 24 hours each! It sure sounds as if God is multiplying all your efforts and using them to touch many people’s lives. Way to go for stepping out in so many ways! I hope Danica will feel better soon…
    Beth

    • Before I came over here people were telling me that in Africa things move twice as fast as in North America, so naturally I was excited to get things going here!

  4. Wow, you are quite ambitious with all this… good on ya x1000 for actually putting wheels on a super good idea. Please keep us posted on the projects and how everything you learn from it.
    Btw, are you guys having a 3rd baby? Congrats.
    ~Corinna

    • Yeah, we are due on Oct 27ish!

  5. Scott,

    You ever need help with translation, let me know. I can’t be there in person, but I can offer practical help that way if you’re ever in a pinch. I’m sure there are plenty of local resources, but just thought I’d offer.

    Love,

    Duncan & Estera

    • I appreciate that! Your French is probably better than alot of French here.

      • If it’s anything like Senegalese French, you may be right – but then there’s always the cultural stuff I’d be missing that you would want to have corrected. As I said, if I can’t be there in person, I may at least be able to help in some capacity. Bless you!

  6. Dear Scott,

    It’s very cool to see how savings groups are really becoming popular. Great too that you could find two CARE alumni employees who’d promoted tons of VSLAs. I wonder, how would they answer a question from a VSLA group member, “I am very thankful that this world is the Lord’s and that I’m a steward of it and everything he has given me. But, I just can’t change! What can I do?” How would the two CARE alums respond?

    • Perhaps they would give examples of people (Burundians) who have thought the same thing, but over the period of a few years are now living in nicer houses and sending all their kids to school. This is usually pretty effective when you can give real-world examples from the next hill over that motivate others to change. If people’s neighbors are changing around them, hope and vision grow in the community.

  7. Wonderful possibilities here, Scott. I’m wondering if these savings groups would work well in Nepal/Himalayan region. Would you be open to me forwarding your post (above) to Noel Isaacs and perhaps Nathan Regher (pastor in Winnipeg Centre Vineyard)?

    • Sure, send it to whoever you want. I hope it blesses many


Leave a comment

Categories