Posted by: Scott | May 18, 2012

Where the rubber hits the road

Sports day for everyone at John’s school. John was team blue.

Yesterday some good friends of mine named Tim and Janette came over to our house because they had something to ask of me. They are currently organizing a HUGE Christian crusade in Burundi that will be executed in 7 different provinces country-wide. In each province it is expected that at least 10,000 people will show up…possibly more. This crusade is so big that even the President’s wife is involved in planning it. Unfortunately the original speaker that they had planned to use jammed out on them at the last minute and now they need someone to help speak. They asked me if I would be able to speak in the first two provinces. One of the reasons that I was asked to speak is because I go to a Bible study with Tim who is the guy who is organizing the whole thing. It just so happened that I mentioned something I felt God saying to me before I even came to Burundi which was that through me God would bring thousands into his kingdom. We weren’t even talking about the crusade or anything like that, but for some reason he felt that the lack of speaker coupled with what I felt God saying to me before I came to Burundi was enough of a coincidence for it to not be a coincidence. Never before have I ever done anything like this and I’m thinking in my head, “can I even do this?” This would be so far above me. Yes I am willing, but is it God’s will? After some prayer and the presence of many external confirming circumstances I decided to accept.

Despite the poor photo quality, I had to include this picture because it communicates so well how John felt about earning a 3rd place ribbon.

I need prayer. The enemy has been trying to come against this crusade in various forms and I anticipate that I will be attacked as well because of my involvement. Pray that God’s kingdom would come to Burundi and that people would make decisions to follow Jesus. The topic for the crusade is forgiveness and reconciliation which is a great topic to mix with the Gospel. Pray that I would have boldness in speaking and that I would be able to communicate the Gospel with clarity and focus.

Madam Solange’s class. When the ants bite and the mosquitoes sting, or when he’s feeling sad…he remembers a few of these favorite things and then he doesn’t feel so sad.

In addition to the speaking, they have also asked me to lead a short worship set between the plenary sessions. I can count on three or four hands how many times I’ve led worship in a Bible study/Prison setting. Playing in front of 10,000 people is something that Bono does, not Scott McKenzie. Pray that I would bring the spirit of worship to the crusade. That people would experience the Holy Spirit, that hearts would be softened, lives transformed, and people forgiven.

I took Dani to the place I had been a couple of weeks earlier. Very pretty

I know that there are so many more people who are better qualified than me that should be here, both for the speaking and the worship leading, but the truth is that there isn’t because of logistical problems and other unforeseen reasons. This is a monumental opportunity with much potential and it has fallen in my lap. I am not the type to freak out and get really nervous…it’s not the way I’m made, but I do know when I am in over my head and that is the reason for this blog. God bailed me out with the savings groups and I know he is capable of bailing me out with this crusade. Please pray…


Responses

  1. HI Scott, I thoroughly enjoy your blogs! Your adventures with your boys and the humor you use entertain me. However . . . I remember years ago how God used your preaching to speak truth into my life so am thrilled to have this blog to hear of your adventures. I want to encourage you with with a few thoughts that come to mind (in reference to this preaching) based on Joshua 1. Focus on the distinct call upon your life. Knowing God called you and you belong to HIM by the blood of Jesus. Focus on the living WORD of God, which you have a gift to expound. Finally, Focus on God’s faithfulness . . . God’s commitment to you – rather than your commitment to Him. His hand is upon you, like a good coach would say, stop listening to yourself and start talking to yourself! I am excited to hear how this opportunity goes for you! God Bless you and your sweet family! xo

  2. Wow Scott! This is truly quite amazing. I will fill Chris in and we will pray for you and the familiy. Love you guys.
    Melissa

  3. GREAT open door!!

  4. Praise God!! I will be praying for you Scott! Sharon

  5. Wow, Scott, what an amazing opportunity- I have no doubt that God’s hand is in this. Please keep us posted on how it goes.

    Loved the pic of John’s 3rd place ribbon… too funny. Thanks for updating us with both the humor and the deep stuff going on in your lives.

    Is Danica back from Canada yet?

    • Yeah, she got back a few weeks ago. Thanks for the encouragement.

  6. Scott, I am confident you will be a gift to many in your preaching as you speak the Word boldly. I pray with and for you that God use you to speak to the hearts of many and that this experience also enriches you greatly. I regret that I will not be able to hear you preach and hope there is a recording made. Your enthusiasm is a blessing to others. Continue!

    • Thanks Peter! I appreciate the encouragement.


Leave a comment

Categories