Posted by: Scott | May 26, 2012

New Chicken Broods and American Dudes

The mom was giving me that look, that ‘I will mess you up if you touch’ look.

It is a wonderful thing to see baby chicks when they are one day old.  I was expecting little greasy babies like mammals produce, but instead they were little fluff-balls of various colours.  The thing that amazes me the most is that there are around 10 chicks, and all of them can do a disappearing trick under mom.  Mom makes this low rumbling sound and like well-trained soldiers, the little chicks form ranks under mom’s wings.

The night guard was kind enough to leave his cell phone and charger nearby so the mom can call the necessary people and inform them on the sizes, genders and names of the little ones.

Multiple times a day John requests that we go outside and see the baby chickens (les poussins).  I keep telling him that he must keep his distance because the mother might peck him if he gets too close.  I love watching the little battle go on in his brain between the desire to approach and abuse and the command to keep his distance.  He resorts to getting sticks or throwing little rocks to try to appease the desire while obeying the command…I know someone else like that who has lived with that tension for 35 years.

I told him to make a face like he was staring into a nameless void of bliss.

An American family moved into town with 4 kids and they have AWESOME English.  We went to the pool with them today and had a great picnic with them.  Their names are Joel and Janette and they are both family docs, which is nice because they will be teaching at the same university as Danica.  They are very nice and we get along quite well.  They had previously spent some years in Mexico as missionaries so their Spanish is great, but unfortunately now they are thrown into French which is quite a bit harder…or so they say.  I’m sure we will get to know them a bit better.  I really get the sense that they are obedient to what God calls them to, which makes me trust them that much faster.

This boy is getting older FAST


Responses

  1. I love the cell phone charger comment!
    We are praying for your family.


Leave a comment

Categories